An error occurred

Please try refreshing the page, otherwise try again later. If the problem persists, contact

Skip to Content (Press Enter)



Grading System at the University of Skövde

Here you can find an explanation for credits, grading criteria and grading scales at the University of Skövde.


The duration and extent of study programmes and courses are expressed in a system of higher education credits, with 1.5 credit point corresponding to one week of full-time studies.

Full-time studies require at least 40 hours of work per week, of which the majority of the time may be devoted to individual study or group work outside the classroom. In accordance with the European Credit Transfer System (ECTS), one successful academic year yields 60 higher education credits.

Grading Criteria

All grades at the University of Skövde are criterion-referenced, in other words awarded in relation to the student’s performance relative to the learning objectives set out in the course syllabus.

That means that assessment is made of how well the student fulfils the objectives of the course and not how well the student performs in relation to other students, i.e. students are not ranked at University of Skövde.

Grades generally reflect the entire performance in the course, not only the final examination. Students who fail in the examination are entitled to take a new examination covering the same material. Students who pass an examination cannot take a new examination in order to achieve a higher grade.

Grading Scales

As decided by the Vice-Chancellor, there are three different grading scales at the University of Skövde. The grade distribution within the different grading scales is shown below. Grades are listed in order from the highest grade to the lowest. Grades are normally awarded on a basis of either:

  • Two-point grading scale – G (Pass) and U (Fail)
  • Three-point grading scale – VG (Pass with Distinction), G (Pass) and U (Fail)
  • Six-point grading scale – A (Excellent), B (Very Good), C (Good), D (Satisfactory), E (Sufficient) and F (Fail).

Translation of six-point grading scale to a three-point (Swedish) grading system

  • Grade A and B are equal to grade VG
  • Grades C, D and E are equal to grade G
  • Grade F is equal to grade U

The six-point grading scale is usually used in courses aimed for an international student group. This grading scale can also be used in other courses.

In courses where a three-point grading scale or a six-point grading scale is used, can also the two-point grading scale be used for certain examination parts. However, more than these two grading scales may not be used in one and the same course.

Grades that have been awarded before

Numerical grading scale (5, 4, 3 or U) is previously used for assessment in fields for Natural Sciences and Informatics.

Translation of six-point grading scale to a numerical grading scale system:

  • Grade A is equal to grade 5
  • Grades B and C are equal to grade 4
  • Grade D and E are equal to grade 3
  • Grade F is equal to grade U

Please note that at the University in Skövde, we do not use percentages in our grading system!

Published: 10/14/2020